Concussion: the invisible injury

I don’t want to go in depth because I’m tired of retelling the story. I was in a car accident 10 days ago and aside from a few bruises, my only injury is a mild concussion. (Before you ask, yes I can type for short-ish periods of time, I couldn’t the first week, but I can do more things now) I’m thankful this car accident didn’t take my life, but having a concussion has not been easy. Having a concussion has been one of the most frustrating things I’ve experienced in my life, because no one can see it except me. It’s an “invisible injury”.

You can’t see it, but I can feel my head throbbing in pain at random times of the day or when I trigger it by sitting and focusing for too long in class.

You can’t see it, but I can hear the ringing in my ears that hasn’t left since a car collided into mine.

You can’t see it, but I can feel the nausea, forgetfulness, loss of memory, difficulty concentrating, and irritability, and frustration of my brain not working how it used to.

You can’t see it, but I can’t spend more than half an hour on homework at a time and if I try to spend longer, the ringing is louder and the pain throbs stronger and all I can do is lay down.

You can’t see  that I’m falling behind in my classes and the doctors notes that give me permission to do so.

You can’t see it because for short periods of time, the pain isn’t too much to bear and I can sit down and have a conversation in the cafeteria and make jokes like my usual self. But after about an hour of ANY activity whatsoever, I have to lay down before the pain takes over. I seem normal but I really just mastered the art of acting like I’m fine.

You can’t see it, but I went to the doctor 3 times within a 5 day period and spent more time in waiting rooms and with doctors shining lights through my eyes than I ever have before.

You can’t see it, but even after this fairly short article, my concussion has been aggravated from too much cognitive activity and I’m off to take a nap.

So before you think I’m exaggerating my condition because I “seem fine” at times. Remember that some injuries are invisible. 

Leave a Reply

