Blogging Challenge Day Six: what are you afraid of?

Honestly, I’m afraid of a lot of things. As someone with an anxiety disorder (which is now very well managed, mind you), sometimes it seems like theres a long list of things I’m afraid of. There’s things I’m scared of that everyone is scared of like rejection or losing a loved one. My main phobia was/is a medical phobia. It doesn’t bother me much anymore, but I definitely used to be really scared of doctors/hospitals/surgery/etc. I also find myself myself making up anxiety-related worst-case scenarios like imaging my family getting into a plane crash or imaging my childhood house burning down. I also fear (and therefore tend to avoid) things that a typical adrenaline junkie might enjoy like big roller coasters or skydiving…yeah not my thing. I also have developed a fear, well maybe not quite a fear, but more of a “dread” for the future. I fear that I’ll settle into a life I don’t want. I’ll get stuck in a town I don’t like with a job I don’t like with a partner/husband I don’t truly love and I’ll just feel trapped and unfulfilled. However, I really do feel like I’m getting braver and stronger with age. There’s certain things that don’t bother me anymore that would have been way out of my comfort zone when I was younger. I think it’s good to do something that scares you every single day.

Leave a Reply

